Several Graduate students win scholarships and awards

This has been a banner year for awards within the Graduate History Program. Two of our incoming PHD students for next September won the highly competitive top scholarships offered by the Faculty of Graduate Studies, and one of our graduate students has won the top prize offered by the federal government.

Madeleine Chartrand (currently completing her MA in York's GHP) won the Elia Scholars Program, York's most prestigious graduate award, which she will hold for four years. This recruitment award enables York to attract doctoral students of the highest possible caliber, and only three are awarded across the whole university every year. Chartrand plans to critically examine the relationship of women's work to British industrialization by looking at the history of women artisans in the weaving trades of two important manufacturing centres, London and Coventry, in the later 18th century, assessing both the economy of the industrial revolution and class consciousness from a gendered perspective.

Erin Dolmage (currently completing her MA in Interdisciplinary Studies at the University of British Columbia-Okanagan) won the Chancellor Bennett Doctoral Scholarship for Liberal Arts, which she will hold for four years. Only one is awarded annually to a doctoral student. Dolmage plans to explore how genealogists in the 20th century understood and shaped the processes through which Metis families and communities in Canada recognized, embraced or denied their heritage and Aboriginal rights.

James Trepanier (in his second year of his PHD in York's GHP) has won the highly prestigious Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship. Vanier Scholars demonstrate leadership skills and a high standard of scholarly achievement. Only 174 awards across all disciplines (including sciences and health) were awarded this year. Only three students studying history from across the country and only four students at York won the Vanier. He will hold this award for three years, and will continue working on his doctoral dissertation, which explores how religious belief, nationalist sentiment and youth culture converged in a variety of ways in the Boy Scout movement in Canada at its inception in 1914 to the 1960s.

The following four students have won SSHRCs in this year's competition:

  • Katharine Bausch
  • Madeleine Chartrand (CGS)
  • Angela Hug
  • James Trepanier (declined)

The following students have won OGSs in this year's competition:

  • Sarah Hogenbirk
  • Angela Hug (declined)
  • Anna Irish
  • Colin McCullough
  • Francis Peddie
  • Angela Rooke
  • Samira Saramo
  • James Trepanier (declined)
  • Nathan Wilson

Congratulations to you!